Ride bikes. Have fun. Feel good.

Evening 10

*** note next week is 6.30pm start ***

Mike Anton writes…

Another glorious sunny evening awaited 18 competitors for the weekly battle round T’Horne.

I don’t know if the warm weather had brought more drivers out but the course was really busy. On past marshalling duties I’ve been able to stand in the junction and wave riders through but not so last night where it seemed the world and his dog were out.

So apologies to the various folk I had to wave down but we don’t want any mishaps.

Visitor Ben ‘BikeDoc’ Instone dominated the results and it looked like quite a tussle was going on between him and Mr Dennis when they went through the turn.

Carla continues to lead the Ladies comp and is getting quicker each time but just missed out on a ’31’. That we can put down to the aforementioned traffic.

It was nice to see Messrs Brown, Cole and Dickson out on their first outings of the year and lets hope we see more of them this summer.

Mr Rollason continues to be Mr Consistent with his third 26:15 of the year. Unfortunately Steve had to DNF with cramp on the Sussex Tri on Sunday so it was good that he was out on the bike last night.

Finally but by no means least, we come to the PBs.

First off was Ian Thompson who chopped off over 30 seconds to record 28:26. If I’m not mistaken Mr T was flying the Grinstead colurs at last week’s Sussex Nomads handicap road race so hopefuly we can hear some more from him on that.

Stef put in an excellent ride going under 25 minutes for the first time knocking 19 seconds off his previous best.

Next up is Andy Rockingham who narrowly missed out on a 2 minute improvement. That said I’d probaby kill for a 1:51 improvement in a 10!

Mr Farmer however wins the best improvement award, swiping a massive 2:47 off his previous best. Now there was some assistance with this as I’d lent him my TT bike. Granted a dedicated Ti and C/F aero bling wagon is always going to help but I’m 4″ shorter than Dan and even with the seatpost at its max, the bike was still too small. Still, well done on the time.

Now the only problem with this is I think I’ve now opened up Mr Farmer Snr’s wallet for a neverending stream of bike upgrades!

1   Ben Instone          22:27
2   Steve Dennis         23:31
3   Stefano Arcidiacono  24:49
4   Alan MacInnes        25:21
5   Kevin Bashford       25:39
6   Paul Winkley         26:08  
7   Steve Rollason       26:15
8   Ben Hardisty         26:32
9   Ted Boorman          27:04
10  Richard Woodward     27:39
11  Rob Dickson          27:54
12  Ian Thompson         28:26
13  Danial Farmer        29:48
14  John Cole            30:54
15  Roy Brown            30:58
16  Robin Johnson        31:11
17  Carla Dennis         32:04 
18  Andy Rockingham      34:48

Timekeeper: Chris Daniels
Marshalls/Pusher off: Mike Anton / Mick Robinson / Richard Blackmore

Welcome to Popup Box plugin